Baby Shower Cupcakes

It all started with an e-mail from my co-worker… “So, I just volunteered us, and by us I really mean you to bring cupcakes for [insert Preggo’s name here] baby shower.  Please let me know what we (you) will need and I will get it to you.”  HA – I love her.

So, of course, I went to Pinterest.  I found these baby-face cupcakes and these adorable cupcake toppers.

I started off by making the Vanilla Cupcakes with Strawberry Filling.

Then, I decorated!

For the baby-face cupcakes: I made Vanilla Buttercream, and colored it with a TINY bit of Wilton copper icing color (found at Joann’s) to make it Caucasian colored.

Then, I used a medium cookie scoop to put a dollop on top of the cupcakes.  I have a small offset spatula that I used to spread the frosting across the top.  Once the frosting is evenly distributed, use the spatula edge to smooth it over the top and around the sides.

I stuck the pacifier in the cupcake and frosting first, and then took mini-chocolate chips and carefully stuck them (upside-down) as eyes!

Now for the Cupcake Toppers!

Here is the Sure Cuts A Lot (SCUT2) file that I used to make these!  (It’s a file that I just uploaded to Dropbox.  I’ve never had ANY problems sharing files with Dropbox.  I use it all the time.)

I used my Cricut to cut these out, glued them together, hot glued toothpicks to the back, and voila!

Here’s the recipe!

Vanilla Cupcakes

Yield: 24 cupcakes

Prep Time: 15 minutes | Bake Time: 20 to 24 minutes

3 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups granulated sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon table salt
12 tablespoons unsalted butter (2 sticks), room temperature
1 cup sour cream
2 large eggs, room temperature
4 large egg yolks, room temperature
1 tbsp. vanilla extract

1. Adjust oven rack to middle position; heat oven to 350 degrees F. Line standard muffin/cupcake tin with paper or foil liners.

2. Whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in bowl of standing mixer fitted with paddle attachment. Add butter, sour cream, egg and egg yolks, and vanilla; beat at medium speed until smooth and satiny, about 30 seconds. Scrape down sides of bowl with rubber spatula and mix by hand until smooth and no flour pockets remain. DO NOT OVERMIX.

3. Divide batter evenly among cups of prepared tin. Bake until cupcake tops are pale gold and toothpick or skewer inserted into center comes out clean, 20 to 24 minutes. [I preheated to 350; I lowered it to 325 when I put the cupcakes in to get a rounder top. I baked for 23 min.]  Remove the cupcakes from tin and transfer to wire rack; cool cupcakes to room temperature before frosting.

Vanilla Buttercream Frosting

Yield: Enough to frost 24 cupcakes

Prep Time: 10 minutes

2 cups (16 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature
5 cups powdered sugar
2 tablespoons vanilla extract

1. Using the wire whisk attachment of your stand mixer, whip the butter on medium-high speed for 5 minutes, stopping to scrape the bowl once or twice.

2. Reduce the speed to low and gradually add the powdered sugar. Once all of the powdered sugar is incorporated, increase the speed to medium-high and add the vanilla, mixing until incorporated. Whip at medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes, scraping the bowl as needed. [I whipped WAY longer than 2 minutes]

You can store any unused buttercream on the counter in an airtight container; if you store in the refrigerator: let it come to room temperature and then give it a quick whip in the mixer before using.

(Cupcake recipe doubled from Brown Eyed Baker – originally adapted from Cook’s Illustrated; Frosting recipe is from Brown Eyed Baker)

Strawberry or Raspberry Filling

Here’s my secret… I use Junket Danish Dessert as a filling.  You can mix it up following the pie filling microwave directions, with about 1/2-1 cup of extra water, depending on how thin you want the filling.  Then, I use your favorite method to fill the cupcakes (You can use a pastry bag with a thin straight tip and inject the cupcakes if desired.)

One thought on “Baby Shower Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

