Chocolate Chocolate Cupcakes [frosting recipe included!]

What is the likelihood of 3 out of my 6 co-workers have birthdays within a week of each other?  Good thing they all LOVE chocolate, because it was easy for them to agree on chocolate cupcakes.

So, of course, I went to my ABSOLUTE favorite chocolate cake recipe.  It has never failed me before, and it definitely didn’t fail me this time!  It’s been a while since I made it, AND I rarely make JUST chocolate.  But it was DIVINE.  A number of people said it was one of the best they’d had.  If you’ve never tried to make cupcakes from scratch use this recipe!

I also discovered this amazing frosting recipe.  [sidenote… food.com, previously recipezaar, is one of my favorite things] Oh. Muh. Wurd… I’m not really a frosting person.  Especially chocolate.  But MAN was this frosting AMAZING.  And pretty easy too!  Do yourself a favor and try it.

I got a new piping tip and had fun (and made some ridiculously awful looking cupcakes) trying out new stuff!  I kinda tried to make a rose.  I was pretty excited about the possibilities!

Here’s the recipe I used for frosting.  Just in case you don’t know how to click a link.

Kittencal’s Chocolate Frosting

1/2 cup butter, softened (don’t you dare use margarine)
2 2/3 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted
1/3 cup half-and-half cream OR 1/3 cup milk (can use unwhipped whipping cream in place of half and half)
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
CHOOSE ONE OF THE FOLLOWING  **use less confectioners’ sugar when you use more cocoa powder
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted (for light)
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted (for medium)
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted (for dark rich)

1.  Cream the butter in a small bowl.
2.  Blend in the cocoa powder (the amount desired for a light, medium or dark flavor), vanilla, confectioners sugar, alternately with the cream.
3.  Beat with an electric mixer, until the desired texture is achieved. (I used the whisk attachment and beat it … maybe about 5 minutes?

I added a little bit of vegetable oil to make it shiny and pretty!

Adapted from kittencal on food.com.

One thought on “Chocolate Chocolate Cupcakes [frosting recipe included!]

Leave a Reply

