Mini Pumpkin Cakes

I saw this idea on Pinterest last fall, and didn’t have a mini bundt muffin tin.  I pinned it and kept my eye out – I ended up finding one at Home Goods for about $20.  You can also make this as a large pumpkin cake!

These pumpkin cakes are actually pretty simple to make, once you have the pan.  It took some time, because I only had one pan, but needed more mini-cakes than that, but very easy!

How to make pumpkin cakes:

  1. Make sure you have a bundt pan or mini bundt pan.
  2. Make cake batter in desired flavor. (Pumpkin recipe is at the bottom; Chocolate works well too!)
  3. Spray and flour pan.  I used the AWESOME Pam Baking (has flour in it!).  Make sure to do a thorough job!  These are a bear to get out if they get stuck.
  4. Fill pan – I filled 1/2 – 3/4 full (I thought they looked better smaller and they domed a little less).
  5. Shake the pan a little before baking to try to get them to dome less.
  6. Bake for 15-20 minutes for mini bundts, or until toothpick comes out clean.
  7. Let cool for about 2 minutes, then turn over onto cooling rack.  I had to use a mini spatula to get one or two out of the pan.
  8. They will most likely round in the pan and it makes them tricky to stack.  You can try a few things.  I tried dental floss, a paring knife, and a small serrated knife to trim them flat.  The serrated knife worked the best for me!  – If your mini cakes arefuller than the pan, you can trim them before removing from the pan.
  9. Eat the extra off, or text your neighbor so he eats your discarded pieces.
  10. Stack 2 similar sized bundts on top of each other! Because the cakes I made were so moist, mine stayed together well without any thing in the middle.
  11. Top them with a simple glaze (see recipe below) or frost (see directions from Family Circle)
  12. Add some sort of “stem” before the glaze hardens.  You can use pretzel sticks or mini twix.  You can also make marzipan pumpkin stems or caramel stems and leaves.
  13. Viola! Serve and get ready to hear some “ooo”s and “ahhhh”s!

I made chocolate mini bundts, and they were delish! Here is my amazing chocolate cake recipe.

I made this Pumpkin Cake recipe (one of the best cakes I’ve ever made!).  Bundt cupcake tins filled halfway: 14 minutes.

Halloween Vanilla or Latte Glaze (can be made DF)

  • 2 c.powdered sugar
  • 1-3 tbsp. liquid – [milk and 1/2 tsp. vanilla] OR coffee
  • 1/2 tsp. (clear) vanilla extract (optional)
  • 2-3 drops each – red and yellow food coloring (optional)

Stir liquid into sugar. Add more liquid to thin, add more powdered sugar to thicken.  It worked perfectly for me when it was JUST thick enough to pour + a teeny bit of liquid.  If you look at the pumpkin cakes vs. the chocolate – the chocolate ones have more drizzlies on the side (yes, drizzlies is now a word!): my glaze was SLIGHTLY thinner.  But still thick enough to NOT soak through!

Glaze recipe adapted from Wilton.  Idea for shape found first on Pinterest, original is on Country Living. My pumpkin cake recipe is here.

Leave a Reply

