Everything-you-might-want-in-the-car Kit (makes a great gift!)

Another survival kit! My mom and I are both traveling teachers.  I know the type of things that come in handy in the car, so I made this kit.   I ended up making one of these for myself I loved it so much! 

Everything-you-might-want-in-the-car Kit by thisthatandcraft

What to include: [I did NOT include all of this.  Think about your recipient and what they will need!]

Beauty: (Most of this I found at Wal-mart in the travel section)

  • bobby pins
  • travel size comb or brush
  • hair ties
  • hair spray**
  • compact mirror
  • chapstick**
  • tweezers
  • nail file
  • blotting papers
  • hand lotion**
  • sun screen**
  • lint roller** [I got a lint brush]
  • deoderant**
  • toothbrush-to-go (Wisps, or my Wal-mart had a kit with an actual toothbrush and toothpaste for cheaper!)
  • floss

Health:

  • disinfecting hand wipes**
  • hand sanitizer
  • tissues
  • bandaids / first aid kit
  • medicines: pain killer, antacid, motion sickness relief, etc.
  • tissues
  • barf bag (you never know when you might have a sick passenger)

Just in case…

  • mints or gum**
  • water bottle(s) [use your own judgement about whether or not you’ll drink from bottles stored in heat]
  • snacks – granola bars, trail mix**
  • plastic silverware packets [I may or may not have had about 20 in my car.  I just took some from there…]
  • napkins
  • pen & small notepad

For clothing (I found most of this at Joann’s):

  • mini sewing kit
  • scissors (I have a pair of children’s scissors.  Nice and small; safe if it goes flying about)
  • safety pins
  • Shout Wipes or Tide-To-Go**

In case of emergency: 

  • flashlight [I MAY have just taken the 2 that were already in my mom’s car… why buy another one? Ha!]
  • tire gauge
  • Fix-a-flat
  • a few pairs of disposable gloves
  • disposable camera [no need if your recipient has a decent phone or tablet]
  • utility knife
  • ice scraper [this has actually come in handy in Texas!]
  • maps
  • car pillow & blanket
  • box of matches
  • small garbage bags

**I live in Texas.  That means, between about April and November, things have a tendancy to melt.  I just keep these things in my purse during those months and taking them out of my car.

The bag – a few ideas: You’ll want to think about what will work best for the TYPE of car your recipient has as well.  Remember, you should not put anything in sight that might look like a good item to steal.  So if there’s no “hidey place” for a giant cosmetic bag, go with something smaller!

  • A number of small cosmetic bags – see through would be better! [I had a hard time finding these at a reasonable price.]
  • A large sturdy bag that can go in the trunk
  • A “purse insert” that will fit in the glove box like the one I used [I bought it on Amazon.  It comes in a variety of colors!  If you need it soon, make sure it is shipped from the US and NOT from Hong Kong. I learned this the hard way.]
  • A 2 part cosmetic bag with see-through pockets
  • A baby wipes container – who would steal that?

Inspiration:

Father's Day Car Kit by Holidash

Father’s Day Car Kit by Holidash – sewing instructions!

Emergency Car Kit from My Creative Stirrings

Emergency Car Kit from My Creative Stirrings

Martha Stewart DIY Car Kit video

Martha Stewart DIY Car Kit video

One thought on “Everything-you-might-want-in-the-car Kit (makes a great gift!)

  1. Pingback: Birthday Week How-To and a #birthdayofhashtags | This & That {{& a little bit of craft}}

Leave a Reply

