Day 2: Penghu!

Oh.  My.  Goodness.  As much as I wanted to take a nap yesterday, I resisted (and my brother kept hitting, pinching, poking me).  I feel sooooo much better this morning! Although I did not at 5AM when someone began banging on their neighbor’s door.  For 4o minutes.  With a dog barking at him.

[If you haven’t been keeping up with my travels, check them out here!]

Ok, so back to yesterday.

Nick and Liv had about 4 minutes left of class when his coworker brought me to Wen Au Elementary, Nick and Liv’s school.  [To see how education here works, check out my dad’s guest post here.]   Olivia asked the students, “Who do you think this is?”  They replied, “YOUR SISTER!” She told them that I was Nick’s sister.  They played “Fish-Fish-Penghu” (essentially Duck-Duck-Goose) until it was time for school to be over.

Fish-Fish-Penghu

A game of “Fish-Fish-Penghu”

I was still feeling a little ehhh from the long travel (and I think from lack of food. Does anyone else get to that point where you’re so hungry you feel nauseated?)  We went back to the house, had some comfort food imported from America, and then hung out in the only air-conditioned room in the house.  Nick wanted to go do something (I’m pretty sure he’s excited to show me around town 🙂 ) and so finally annoyed us enough to the point of going out.

My first-ever scooter ride!

My first-ever scooter ride!

We went to an adorable place that has a Penghu specialty: cactus ice cream.  It was delicious and so fun!

Cactus Desserts

Cactus Desserts

[Note the matching shirts. We only have one shirt that is the same, so it was pretty ironic that we ended up wearing the same one on the same day.]

Cactus Ice Cream - Penghu Specialty

Cactus Ice Cream – Penghu Specialty

A dinner had been arranged in the evening by the principal of the school for some of the visiting education officials from Taiwan.  Some of the teachers from Wen Au Elementary where there as well.  The seafood restaurant had some… interesting dishes.  I was very grateful when they brought chicken out.

This was my first experience actually using chopsticks in public.  How do you think it went? Hint:  a chopstick ended up on the floor.  I think I’ll start bringing my handy-dandy silverware set everywhere I go.

One thought on “Day 2: Penghu!

  1. Yum, yum! Wait until you get woken up by someone trying to start their scooter for 45 mins. Those crabs are smiling at you!

Leave a Reply

