Day 3: Aquarium & Hot Pot

[If you haven’t been keeping up with my travels, check them out here!]

I had a nice relaxing morning blogging and unpacking while Nick and Liv went to work. For lunch, we went to this cute restaurant by the docks – it was adorable and had some great “Western” food!

Then, we went to the Penghu Aquarium.  I’ll let the pictures tell the story!

The best part was feeding time.  The sting rays would almost attack the scuba diver looking for a fish!  He would taunt them with the fish to make them put on a show.  It was pretty cool – especially when the sting rays were bigger than him!

A college student who is volunteering at Nick and Liv’s school came along with us to the aquarium.  He is of Chinese ancestry, but grew up in Indonesia and does not speak Chinese.  As a result, many people in Taiwan assume he speaks Chinese and hilarity ensues!  One of the staff at the aquarium asked if he was showing us around!  I haven’t had this problem yet – thank goodness I LOOK like I don’t speak Chinese.  [I get a lot of stares as a result. We even had someone ask us to take a picture with him! I also got asked if I “put my eyes in” – colored contacts – or if they were natural. 🙂 ]

For dinner, we went to eat hot pot.  There is a hot plate on the tabel to boil your broth.  You choose your meat, veggies, dumplings, tofu, etc. to include in your dish.  Throw it in the bowl at your spot and let it cook!

I am usually not one to try new foods, but I did my best and tried a few new things.   I attempted to use chopsticks at first, but finally got too hungry, so I pulled out my handy-dandy cutlery set that my BFF Melissa got me!  After I finished my meal, my brother decided I needed to learn how to use chopsticks.  So, being the teacher that he is,  he made me move all the extra food on one plate to another – I successfully accomplished the task!

After dinner, we went down the insanely-busy main street (tourist season), and checked out the drug store and department store.   One thing we found funny – the department store sold many shirts with English writing that made NO SENSE! HAH!

IMG_1884

 Nick told me about a shirt one of his students was wearing – it had a bunny and lots of cutsie words; however, down the side of the shirt, was the f-word! I think someone got a kick out of designing that shirt…

All-in-all, a great day!

Leave a Reply

